Skip to main content

Library Quick Tips: FAQ

Tips for new users of the library

What are the opening hours of the library?

The Library is open 24/7. The Information Desk is staffed Sun-Wed  8am-8pm, Thurs 8am-5pm.
For enquiries, go to asklib.kaust.edu.sa or email library@kaust.edu.sa

Membership Privileges

Who can join and use the library?
The Library serves the University's current faculty, students, staff, researchers and campus residents who hold a valid KAUST ID. For KAUST users, you can use your KAUST Username/PW to login to your account to renew loans, place holds or suggest a purchase.

For community users without a KAUST Username/PW, you can create a password with your KAUST ID number.

For details, click on the My Account link on the Library Homepage.

How long can I check out a book?
Different materials have different load periods. For details, go to Circulation Policy on the Library Homepage.

Off Campus Connection

For off-campus access to library-subscribed materials:

1) Use the KAUST Virtual Private Network (VPN) connection. Once you are logged in, you will be able to access all the databases just like you are on campus. For more info, go to IT Intranet or contact 910 or ithelpdesk@kaust.edu.sa.

OR

2) Install the EZPROXY Bookmarklet (instructions below). At the journal article page, click on the bookmarklet you've created. You will be prompted to login with your network ID and PW to access the content.

 

How to install the EZPROXY Bookmarklet

Google Chrome users: Drag the orange EZPROXY Button above to your bookmark bar.

Firefox users: Right-click on the orange EZPROXY Button above and select "Bookmark This Link".

Safari users: Drag the orange EZPROXY Button above to your Toolbar.

Internet Explorer Users: Right-click on the orange EZPROXY Button above and select "Add to Favourites".

For all the above browsers, you can edit/rename the bookmark.

Document Delivery Services

How do I request for journal articles not available through the Library?
You can email your request, including the full citation, to ILLDD@kaust.edu.sa.

Who can make use of this service and who pays for it?
All KAUST faculty, researchers, post-docs, students and staff are eligible to use this service. KAUST pays the copyright and delivery fees.

Click here for more details.

Borrowing & Returning Books

How do I check out and return books?
You can borrow books using the self-check machines.

You can return books via the Book Return bins. Remember to use the self-check machines to return the book before dropping them into the Book Return bins.

Library Training

Not sure how to conduct a literature search? Not sure how to use the Library resources and databases? Need help with using EndNote? Sign up for Library Training, details here.

Access to eResources

How can I find the titles of electronic journals that the Library has subscribed to? 
The easiest way is to use the KORAL search box on the Library Homepage. It searches for books, journals, journal articles, databases, etc., found in the Library collection.

What about access to databases subscribed by the Library? 
You can access the alphabetical or the subject listings at the Databases A-Z List. Go to the Library Homepage and click on Databases A-Z List.

How can I access Library-subscribed e-resources off-campus (out of KAUST)? 
 Details available in box on left on Off-Campus Connections.

Textbooks

Where are the textbooks? How can I buy them?
Books which have been designated as textbooks by KAUST faculty are placed in the Closed Reserves. They have a green dot on the spine of the book. They are for use in the Library only.

Students who wish to place an order for their personal copy should do so in the KAUST Portal. For more details, go to the LibGuide on Textbooks.

AirMedia - Wireless Presentation

For instructions on connecting to the TVs in the discussion rooms, click here: http://libguides.kaust.edu.sa/airmedia

Research Repository

How can I submit my journal articles to the Research Repository?

Create or log in to your account at http://repository.kaust.edu.sa/kaust/. Click Submit an item from the menu and choose the collection Research > Articles. Use the DOI or PubMed ID to automatically retrieve information about the articles. Upload the files and submit. After completing the submission, the item will be reviewed by library staff before it appears publicly in the repository.

Printing Service

Are there printing and photocopying services available in the Library?
Yes. Printing and photocopying services are available in the Library via the Smart Printing Solution provided by KAUST IT (http://print.kaust.edu.sa).

The Copy Center (Level 0) also provides printing, scanning, lamination, book binding, and poster printing services. Email: campus.reprographics@kaust.edu.sa.

Click here for more details of the Copy Center.

Library FAQ

Can't find your question? Type your question below, or go to asklib.kaust.edu.sa