Skip to main content

Chemical Science: Databases

Library resources organised at one place for students, academics and researchers from "Chemical Science (ChemS)"

Additional Training Materials on Scifinder

Materials provided by Paul Peters(Director, EMEA Sales from CAS)

Reaxys Libguide

 

To find more about Reaxys go to:

http://libguides.kaust.edu.sa/c.php?g=248753

Abstracting and Indexing Databases

  • SciFinder (new users need to register at this link: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=B2CC193CX86F35040X349A58EB102BD44E9D ) provides more than 24 million references selected from journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports and books in chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences. Contains information of more than 22 million chemical substances (1907+, updated daily). (SciFinders goes mobile: scifinder.cas.org/mobile)
  • Reaxys covers organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Reaxys also supports synthesis planning, and provides information on millions of substances and their structure and reactions; chemical, physical and bioactivity property data; and references from over 200 years of primary literature. It includes the Beilstein (organic chemistry) database and the Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic chemistry) database. It iss a web-based workflow solution for chemists such as synthesis planning tools and commercial availability linking.
  • ISI Web of Science is a multidisciplinary science database, providing citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also contains international proceedings for over 120,000 conferences, and has strong coverage of chemical and related sciences (1945+, updated weekly).

Free

  • PubMed is a freely available database provided by the US National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). it includes over 18 million citations from medical/life science journals (1948+).
  • PubChem is a freely available database provided by NCBI, a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. It provides information such as description, the molecular weight and formula, the structure, and more advanced information, such as bioactivity results, synonyms, chemical actions, etc. It contains links to ToxNet  and PubMed.
  • ChemSpider is a freely available database provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry, the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
  • Toxline

Tutorials

Comprehensive training materials

 

 

Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering

Elsevier's curated reference collection in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering on ScienceDirect platform.

Subject-focused collection that covers different aspects of this interdisciplinary area.