Skip to main content

Chemical Science: SciFinder Home

Library resources organised at one place for students, academics and researchers from "Chemical Science (ChemS)"

SciFinder Registration

First time users is required to register before use

  1. Register here using your work PC (having KAUST IP address).
  2. Enter KAUST email address that ends in "kaust.edu.sa". Other e-mail accounts will not be accepted.
  3. Follow the tips about user name and password.
  4. Complete the registration after receiving a confirmation email. 

You will have to login every time you access SciFinder

News from CAS and SciFinder

SciFinder rolls out new features

Finding the updates about SciFinder? Check in What' s new in SciFinder?

Latest news from CAS:

Loading ...

Transit from SciFinder Scholar to SciFinder Web

Scifinder Web version have more functionality than the Scifinder Scholar.

Convert your client saved .sfr files to .akx files using the new SciFinder file conversion tool

SciFinder Off Campus

For SciFinder you need to set up a Virtual Private Network (VPN) connection. Use the link below to download VPN software

  • Download VPN ( Login under your Group with your Portal Credentials).

For further assistance with a VPN, contact ithelpdesk@kaust.edu.sa or call 910.

Access SciFinder

SciFinder Provided by CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service), a division of American Chemical Society and gives researchers unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. 

Access it anytime, anywhere. Login using your existing SciFinder account username/password. First time users register from here.

 

                                             

 

From Jan 1st, 2012 we already have unlimited access to SciFinder (no limitations to maximum number of concurrent users).

If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Janardhanan Vijayakumar, Manager of Reference and Research Services Department of Library. Or Wanyu Huang, Subject Specialist for BESE.

SciFinder® is for Educational use ONLY

You can download and install ChemOffice program from IT department by clicking here (only for KAUST staff and students) to support your works in SciFinder.

ChemOffice is a powerful suite of software, consisting of ChemDraw (-for Scifinder), Chem3D, ChemFinder and ChemACX for chemists, BioOffice, BioAssay, BioViz, and BioDraw for biologists, and Inventory, E-Notebook and The Merck Index for scientists

Content & Coverage of SciFinder

SciFinder provides more than 24 million references selected from journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports and books in chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences. It contains information on more than 22 million chemical substances (1907+, updated daily).

SciFinder contains following databases

Reference Database

CAplusSM

Literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 references. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more.

CAplus covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences.

MEDLINE®

Biomedical literature from more than 4,780 journals and 70 countries, covering literature from 1950 to the present.

Structure Database

CAS REGISTRYSM

Specific chemical substances, including organic and inorganic compounds, sequences, coordination compounds, polymers, and alloys covering 1957 to the present, with some classes going back to the early 1900s.

Reaction Database

CASREACT®

Reaction information for single and multiple-step reactions from 1907 to the present.

Commercial Source Database

CHEMCATS®

Chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information derived from current chemical catalogs and libraries, retrieved for individual substances.

CHEMLIST®

An electronic collection of thousands of chemical substances that are regulated in key markets across the globe. Contains more than 309,000 substances, covering from 1980 to the present.


For more detailed information, please visit SciFinder Content

SciFinder Mobile

Use your smartphone to access your favorite SciFinder features anytime, anyplace.

  • Explore by Research Topic
  • Explore by Substance ID
  • Explore by Author Name
  • Explore by Company Name
  • Review Saved Answer Sets
  • Review Keep Me Posted Alerts

With SciFinder Mobile, you can quickly find:

  • References to published research for a topic of interest
  • Information on a substance of interest, including nomenclature, molecular formula and properties
  • References to published research from a scientist or company of interest

There's no app to download and no IP address restrictions; just point the Web browser on your smartphone  to scifinder.cas.org/mobile or scan this QR code*: (Login using your existing SciFinder account username/password.)

QR for SciFinder Mobile website

Snap a picture of this quick response (QR) code with your smartphone QR reader to try SciFinder Mobile now.

 

QR code technology requires a smartphone with a free QR code reader downloaded available at: get.neoreader.com

 

A SciFinder user name is required to access SciFinder Mobile. To secure a username, see your SciFinder administrator.

 

To learn more visit SciFinder Mobile.

 

 

Subject Guide

SciFinder Tutorials

SciFinder Tutorial Homepage

  • Substance Searching
  • Reaction Searching
  • Reference Searching
  • General Topics
  • Special Topics

SciFinder Training at KAUST

Materials provided by Paul Peters (Director, EMEA Sales from CAS) during Dec 7, 2011 SciFinder training at KAUST Library.