Skip to main content

Chemical and Biological Engineering: Databases

Library resources organised at one place for students, academics and researchers from "Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE)"

Additional Training Materials on Scifinder

Materials provided by Paul Peters(Director, EMEA Sales from CAS)

Use Abstracting and Indexing databases to find articles, reactions, patents and more. Some of the key databases in Chemical and Biological Engineering

  • SciFinder (new users need to register at this link: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=B2CC193CX86F35040X349A58EB102BD44E9D  ) provides more than 24 million references selected from journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports and books in chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences. Contain information of more than 22 million chemical substances. (1907+, updated daily)   
  • Reaxys covers organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Support synthesis planning. Provides information on millions of substances and their structure and reactions, chemical, physical and bioactivity property data, and literature references from over 200 years of the primary literature. It includes the Beilstein (organic chemistry) database and the Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic chemistry) database. Is a web-based workflow solution for chemists such as synthesis planning tool and commercial availability linking.
  • ISI Web of Science multidisciplinary science database, provides citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities. International proceedings for over 120,000 conferences. Strong coverage in the chemical and related sciences. (1945+, updated weekly)

Free

  • PubMed is freely available and provided by US National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and includes over 18 million citations from medical/life science journals (1948+)
  • PubChem is freely available and provided by NCBI, is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. Provides information such as a description, the molecular weight and formula, the structure, and more advanced information such as bioactivity results, synonyms, chemical actions, etc. Links to ToxNet and PubMed.
  • ChemSpider freely available by the Royal Society of Chemistry, the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information
  • Toxline contains an extensive array of references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
  • DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target information (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway). The database contains more than 6,700 drug entries including 1,437 FDA-approved small molecule drugs, 134 FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, 83 nutraceuticals, and 5,174 experimental drugs. Additionally, more than 4,200 non-redundant protein (i.e. drug target/enzyme/transporter/carrier) sequences are linked to these drug entries.

Tutorials

 

 

Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering

Elsevier's curated reference collection in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering on ScienceDirect platform.

Subject-focused collection that covers different aspects of this interdisciplinary area.