Skip to main content

Computer Science: Databases

Resources to support the Computer Science Program at KAUST

Communications of the ACM

Loading ...

Science Daily Computer Programming News

Loading ...

Resources

Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library is ACM’s online platform which contains the full text of every article every published by ACM. The ACM Digital Library is fully integrated with the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, an extensive collection of bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

On the top left of your search results will indicate if your search results are within Publications of the ACM and Affiliated Organizations or within the The ACM Guide to Computing Literature.  You can toggle between searching the Guide and the ACM Digital Library or Expand your search to The ACM Guide to Computing Literature or Limit your search to Publications from ACM and Affiliated Organizations respectively.

Watch this YouTube video tutorial on the ACM courtesy of Marist University.

Synthesis Collections by Morgan & Claypool

Synthesis is an innovative information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page "lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field.

SIAM Digital Library

SIAM has been publishing on timely and fundamental issues in applied mathematics and computer science.  This database has the entire SIAM Library contents—both journals (15 SIAM journals) and e-books (200+). 

Safari Tech Books Online (STBO)

STBO is an on-demand digital library providing access to technology books.  A joint venture of O’Reilly Media and The Pearson Technology Group, Safari Tech Books Online offers a valuable collection of reference content from these two premier IT publishers. Together, the two companies deliver well over half of all IT books published.  KAUST Library has access for three simultaneous users.

Computer-SciencenetBase

E-Books on computer science from CRC Publishing.  A hybrid of the best-selling engineering handbooks and critically acclaimed Chapman & Hall references, this collection provides access the latest e-books in MATLAB, C ++, and Java. It brings together preeminent authors from product development and design architecture to offer a most diverse collection of resources.

Select the area of CS from the Subject area list.  On the next page, the list of titles found on the right side are the available e-book titles.

SpringerLink

SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.  SpringerLink also offers free access to search, tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services to all its resources, and full text access to subscribed resources.

MathSciNet®

MathSciNet® gives you access to Mathematical Reviews, the main index for mathematical literature published after 1940 in the United States, as well as Current Mathematical Publications, a current awareness journal listing the latest publications (books and journal articles) in mathematics.  It offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year.

MathSciNet® uses the Mathematics Subject Classification scheme to organize its content.  You can learn more about the Mathematics Subject Classification here.

For an informative introduction and step-by-step detailed instructions on how to maximize your use of MathSciNet, check out this downloadable guide here.  Instructions start on p.5.

ACM Training Materials