A dissertation or thesis is a document submitted in support of candidature for a degree or professional qualification. It explains the purpose, the methods, and the findings of the research project with supporting literature review and bibliography.
ETD (Electronic Thesis or Dissertation)
KAUST Library in cooperation with the Registrar's office and Graduate Affairs, developed a guide for KAUST students in writing master's theses and doctoral dissertations.
Please visit Theses Libguide.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global: World's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses contains over 2.7 million bibliographic records with abstracts and over 1.2 million full-text theses (PDF) from top-ranked research universities in North America and around the world. More than 70,000 new graduate works added each year to this database. This database was previously known as "UMI ProQuest Dissertations." KAUST library has subscription based access to this database.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations: NDLTD database includes full-text theses and dissertations from universities from the US and worldwide. NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Digital Access to Research Theses (DART) Europe: Access to around 200,000 full-text research theses from 324 Universities sourced from 19 European countries. A partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
UK Theses (EThos): Many UK institutions support open access to their theses, so download of their digital and digitized theses is free to the researcher. A small number of participating institutions may not be able to offer open access and in this case the researcher may have to pay for the digitization. As of January 2011, 44,000 theses are available. UK Theses requires individual registration, which is free.
Australian Digital Theses: Access freely from the Australian National Library Catalogue (select "format" as theses). Contains theses from around 45 Australian Universities.
Theses Canada: Search AMICUS, Canada's national online catalogue and access the full-text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations.
Indian Theses: TheShodhganga@INFLIBNET Centre provides a platform for research students to deposit their Ph.D. theses and make it available to the entire scholarly community in open access. The repository has the ability to capture, index, store, disseminate and preserve ETDs submitted by the researchers.
As a condition of graduation, KAUST requires master's students who complete a thesisto deposit it in the KAUST digital archive. Similarly, doctoral students must submit an electronic copy of their dissertation to the KAUST digital archive.