Skip to main content

Marine Science: Home

Library resources organised at one place for students, academics and researchers from "Marine Science (MarSE)"

New to KAUST?

New to KAUST? Not sure how to use Library Resources? Have a question about Library Services? Check out the Library Quick Tips.

Library FAQ: asklib.kaust.edu.sa

Off Campus Connection

For off-campus access to library-subscribed materials:

1) Use the KAUST Virtual Private Network (VPN) connection. Once you are logged in, you will be able to access all the databases just like you are on campus. For more info, go to IT Intranet or contact 910 or ithelpdesk@kaust.edu.sa.

OR

2) Install the EZPROXY Bookmarklet (instructions below). At the journal article page, click on the bookmarklet you've created. You will be prompted to login with your network ID and PW to access the content.

 

How to install the EZPROXY Bookmarklet

Google Chrome users: Drag the orange EZPROXY Button above to your bookmark bar.

Firefox users: Right-click on the orange EZPROXY Button above and select "Bookmark This Link".

Safari users: Drag the orange EZPROXY Button above to your Toolbar.

Internet Explorer Users: Right-click on the orange EZPROXY Button above and select "Add to Favourites".

For all the above browsers, you can edit/rename the bookmark.

About this Library Guide

This is a KAUST University Library Subject Guide. It provides easy navigation and access to KAUST library resources by providing the most useful links and resources in this subject area.

Contents of this Library Subject Guide:

  • Home (this page) : the latest news in this subject area
  • Databases : links to major databases to find journal articles; some databases also provide patents, conference proceedings, research reports, theses and dissertations, and statistics and figures
  • Journals :  top journals in this subject area
  • Books : links to selected reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, and handbooks) as well as selected textbooks
  • Research Help : literature search training, academic writing, links to Help and Support 
  • Other Resources : Links to Professional Organizations and Societies, Conference and Funding Search and RSS feeds

This guide is created and maintained by Lee Yen Han. For assistance in using the library resources, or conducting literature research, contact me via the Email Me link in the box on the right. All suggestions, additions, or comments to this subject guide are welcome.

Marine Science at KAUST

Marine Science focuses on the Red Sea—one of the most complex, diverse, and underexplored ecosystems in the world. Because of its location, the Red Sea contains some of the northernmost coral reefs in the world, which have adapted to high temperatures and salinity and hold potential cures for coral diseases like bleaching in other marine environments. The program’s goal is to impact areas such as global carbon cycling, endangered species, and the harvesting of food from the oceans, through an integrated understanding of this ecosystem.

The program covers subjects like marine life, marine microbiology, pelagic ecology, molecular ecology, and marine resource conservation.

For more details, visit the Biological and Environmental Sciences & Engineering Division website, for program curricula visit the Marine Science Program website.

Resources for BESE

Subject Librarian

Lee Yen HAN's picture
Lee Yen HAN
Contact:
University Library
Building 12, Room 3113
4700 KAUST, Thuwal 23955-66900
Saudi Arabia

ReefBase News

The Latest News from ReefBase:

Loading