3D Bioprinting and Nanotechnology in Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine by Lijie Grace Zhang; Kam Leong; John P. Fisher3D Bioprinting and Nanotechnology in Tissue Engineering provides an in depth introduction to these two technologies and their industrial applications. Stem cells in tissue regeneration are covered, along with nanobiomaterials. Commercialization, legal and regulatory considerations are also discussed in order to help you translate nanotechnology and 3D printing-based products to the marketplace and the clinic. Dr. Zhang's and Dr. Fishers' team of expert contributors have pooled their expertise in order to provide a summary of the suitability, sustainability and limitations of each technique for each specific application. The increasing availability and decreasing costs of nanotechnologies and 3D printing technologies are driving their use to meet medical needs, and this book provides an overview of these technologies and their integration. It shows how nanotechnology can increase the clinical efficiency of prosthesis or artificial tissues made by bioprinting or biofabrication. Students and professionals will receive a balanced assessment of relevant technology with theoretical foundation, while still learning about the newest printing techniques. Includes clinical applications, regulatory hurdles, and risk-benefit analysis of each technology. This book will assist you in selecting the best materials and identifying the right parameters for printing, plus incorporate cells and biologically active agents into a printed structure Learn the advantages of integrating 3D printing and nanotechnology in order to improve the safety of your nano-scale materials for biomedical applications
Publication Date: 2015
Bioengineering in Cell and Tissue Research by Gerhard M. Artmann (Editor); Shu Chien (Editor)Cutting edge research in cell and tissue research abounds in this review of the latest technological developments in the area. The chapters are written by excellent scientists on advanced, frontier technology and address scientific questions that require considerable engineering brainpower. The aim is to provide students and scientists working in academia and industry new information on bioengineering in cell and tissue research to enhance their understanding and innovation.
Call Number: QH583.B562 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Cell and Material Interface by Nihal Engin Vrana (Editor)A significant portion of biomedical applications necessitates the establishment of an interface between the cells of the patient and the components of the device. In many cases, such as in implants and engineered tissues, the interaction of the cells with the biomaterial is one of the main determinants of the success of the system. Cell and Material Interface: Advances in Tissue Engineering, Biosensor, Implant, and Imaging Technologiesexplores this interaction and its control at length scales ranging from the nano to the macro. Featuring contributions from leading molecular biologists, chemists, and material scientists, this authoritative reference: Presents practical examples of cell and material interface-based applications Reflects the interdisciplinary nature of bioengineering, covering topics such as biosensing, immunology, and controlled delivery Explains the role of the cell and material interface in the context of cardiac and skin tissue engineering, nanoparticles, natural polymers, and more Cell and Material Interface: Advances in Tissue Engineering, Biosensor, Implant, and Imaging Technologiesaddresses concepts essential to biomaterial production methods and cell and material interactions. The book provides a solid starting point for elucidating and exploiting the different aspects of cellular interactions with materials for biomedical engineering.
Publication Date: 2015-11-18
Gene Biotechnology by William Wu; Helen H. Zhang; Michael J. Welsh; Peter B. KaufmanWritten by a team of internationally recognized scientists, Gene Biotechnology presents protocols as well as clear and simple explanations of the key principles and concepts behind the methods. It is a single, logically organized source for the most important new methodologies. This unique resource provides the tools to help ensure success in contemporary molecular and cellular biology research.
Publication Date: 2011
Methods in Bioengineering: 3D Tissue Engineering by Francois Berthiaume; Jeffrey MorganThis practical book is part of the new Artech House Methods in Bioengineering series volumes designed to offer detailed guidance on authoritative methods for addressing specific bioengineering challenges. Written and edited by recognized experts in the field, each book provides research engineers, scientists, and students with step-by-step procedures, clear examples, and effective ways to overcome problems that may be encountered.
Nanotechnology and Tissue Engineering by Cato T. Laurencin (Editor); Lakshmi Nair (Editor)Nanofabrication gives us the ability to mimic biological structures with molecular level precision. Offering a natural progression of topics, Nanotechnology and Tissue Engineering: The Scaffold provides a state-of-the-art account of groundbreaking research in this rapidly emerging area of biomedical engineering. Emphasizing the importance of scaffolds, the book details fundamental and advanced aspects of nanofabrication and examines cellular interactions at the nanoscale level. It reviews extracellular matrix structure and function and discusses various nanoscale biological surface modifications that can improve cellular responses. The editors present the most promising nanofabrication techniques, including electrospinning, lithography, and self assembly. Featuring the contributions of pioneering scientists writing about their own research, this cutting-edge volume Provides background information discussing the emerging importance of scaffolds in tissue engineering Examines tissue engineering as it relates to orthopedic, cardiovascular, neural, and musculoskeletal applications Details cell responses to a number of nanoscale features Delves into microfabrication techniques in scaffold development Presents research on designer self-assembling peptide scaffolds This highly comprehensive resource also discusses clinical implications and applications, presenting exciting breakthroughs in neural, vascular, and musculoskeletal tissue engineering with nanostructures. An essential resource, for biomedical engineers working on the frontiers of tissue research, this book brings together current findings and background information on a complete range of engineering processes that have led to the development of a number of highly useful tissues. "
Call Number: R857.T55N362 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Nanotechnology Applications for Tissue Engineering by Sabu Thomas (Editor); Yves Grohens (Editor); Neethu Ninan (Editor)Tissue engineering involves seeding of cells on bio-mimicked scaffolds providing adhesive surfaces. Researchers though face a range of problems in generating tissue which can be circumvented by employing nanotechnology. It provides substrates for cell adhesion and proliferation and agents for cell growth and can be used to create nanostructures and nanoparticles to aid the engineering of different types of tissue. Written by renowned scientists from academia and industry, this book covers the recent developments, trends and innovations in the application of nanotechnologies in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. It provides information on methodologies for designing and using biomaterials to regenerate tissue, on novel nano-textured surface features of materials (nano-structured polymers and metals e.g.) as well as on theranostics, immunology and nano-toxicology aspects. In the book also explained are fabrication techniques for production of scaffolds to a series of tissue-specific applications of scaffolds in tissue engineering for specific biomaterials and several types of tissue (such as skin bone, cartilage, vascular, cardiac, bladder and brain tissue). Furthermore, developments in nano drug delivery, gene therapy and cancer nanotechonology are described. The book helps readers to gain a working knowledge about the nanotechnology aspects of tissue engineering and will be of great use to those involved in building specific tissue substitutes in reaching their objective in a more efficient way. It is aimed for R&D and academic scientists, lab engineers, lecturers and PhD students engaged in the fields of tissue engineering or more generally regenerative medicine, nanomedicine, medical devices, nanofabrication, biofabrication, nano- and biomaterials and biomedical engineering. Provides state-of-the-art knowledge on how nanotechnology can help tackling known problems in tissue engineering Covers materials design, fabrication techniques for tissue-specific applications as well as immunology and toxicology aspects Helps scientists and lab engineers building tissue substitutes in a more efficient way
Publication Date: 2015-01-08
Principles of Tissue Engineering by Robert Lanza (Editor); Robert Langer (Editor); Joseph Vacanti (Editor)First published in 1997, Principles of Tissue Engineering is the widely recognized definitive resource in the field. The third edition provides a much needed update of the rapid progress that has been achieved in the field, combining the prerequisites for a general understanding of tissue growth and development, the tools and theoretical information needed to design tissues and organs, as well as a presentation by the world's experts of what is currently known about each specific organ system. This edition includes greatly expanded focus on stem cells, including adult and embryonic stem cells and progenitor populations that may soon lead to new tissue engineering therapies for heart disease, diabetes, and a wide variety of other diseases that afflict humanity. This up-to-date coverage of stem cell biology and other emerging technologies is complemented by a series of new chapters on recent clinical experience in applying tissue engineering. The result is a comprehensive textbook that we believe will be useful to students and experts alike. New to this edition: *Includes new chapters on biomaterial-protein interactions, nanocomposite and three-dimensional scaffolds, skin substitutes, spinal cord, vision enhancement, and heart valves *Expanded coverage of adult and embryonic stem cells of the cardiovascular, hematopoietic, musculoskeletal, nervous, and other organ systems
Call Number: TP248.27.A53 P75 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Stem Cell Microenvironments and Tissue Engineering by Dominique; Satya Prakash (Editor); Dominique Shum-Tim (Editor)This is a comprehensive review of the current state of stem cell bioengineering from authorities in the field. The first part of the book includes the basic research work on stem cells and bioengineering carried out by various laboratories. The second part consists of a review of the current development of various microcapsules in stem cell therapy. The last part will summarize the overall clinical trials on stem cell therapy and myocardial regeneration as well as the most updated personal experience recently completed by well-known experts in this field.
Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Techniques in Genetic Engineering by Isil Aksan KurnazTechniques in Genetic Engineering briefly introduces some common genetic engineering techniques and focuses on how to approach different real-life problems using a combination of these key issues. This easy-to-follow book presents not only the theoretical background of molecular techniques, but also provides case study examples, with some sample solutions. The book covers basic molecular cloning procedures; genetic modification of cells, including stem cells; as well as multicellular organisms, using problem-based case study examples.