Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Home

Important Note: Find Full Text

Please note that when using "Find Full Text" feature in Endnote, ensure that you are not downloading PDFs in large batches.  

Downloading large batches of pdf articles from the same ejournal title could potentially trigger off a chain of events which may cause access to that particular electronic resources to be affected.  

We recommend users to check that they are not downloading large amount of articles from the same ejournal title and publisher.

Please also take note of our electronic resources usage policy.

Quick Links

                                       

Overview

 

EndNoteX9

 

Endnote is a citation management software that allows you to search for online databases and organize your references, images, PDFs, and other files.  You can create instant bibliographies in MS Word, choosing from over 6,000 bibliographic styles.

Downloading EndNote

  • For a KAUST registered computer:
  • Please install EndNote using the Software Center. If you have any difficulties please contact IT.

August 2019 - Catalina update for your EndNote users with macOS systems

Apple will be releasing macOS 10.15 Catalina this fall. They have made the decision to drop all 32-bit application support with this release, which will impact EndNote.  Compatibility update to EndNote X9 for macOS will be applied prior to the launch of Catalina. Please ensure you upgrade to EndNote X9 in order to take advantage of this critical compatibility upgrade.

More information

EndNote Training Schedule

Library Training Program

Endnote vs. Mendeley vs. Zotero

All three can be used on your desktop (without an Internet connection, if necessary) and they all have an online version that can be synced with the desktop version.  

They function similarly, so you can always transfer citations between EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero.  That said, 

  • EndNote Desktop has been around the longest and is generally more robust in terms of customization, i.e., Endnote citation styles are more easily customizable than Zotero's or Mendeley's. A drawback to Endnote Desktop is that it won't be available after graduation and constantly requires update purchases. (Endnote Web doesn't have optimal functionality on its own without the companion desktop version.
  • Mendeley's strength is its ability to import and grab metadata from pdfs (including pdfs already on your computer). It was also created as a collaborative tool and has more social media features than the other two tools. However, only the basic version (with much less functionality) is free.
  • Zotero is by far the best at "grabbing" citations and full text from catalogs, databases, web pages, and sites like Amazon and Flickr. It’s free and open-source with a large user group, user forums, and a developer community, and will be available to you after graduation. Syncing your citations to Zotero's cloud is seamless.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Faten Barayyan
Contact:
KAUST
University Library
Building 12, Level 3, Room 3113
4700 KAUST, Thuwal 23955-66900
Saudi Arabia
+966 12 808 3622
Website

Mendeley vs other BMS

Besides Mendeley, there are other Bibliographic/Citation Management Software (BMS), like EndNote and Zotero.