Skip to main content

Archives and Records Management: HOME

KAUST's University Records Center & Archives

Welcome to the Archives and Records Management Website

As KAUST employees we use or create records in our work everyday. We all share the responsibility to manage its records appropriately and professionally. This guide contains important information and tips for KAUST employees about records management requirements and procedures. 

What is the University Records Center & Archives?

The University Library maintains the University Records Center & Archives, coordinates KAUST's records retention and disposition schedules, and strives to empower all employees to confidently and efficiently manage records. 

Offices that have developed their records retention and disposition schedules (sample photo below) may transfer their inactive or semi-active administrative records to the University Records Center & Archives (i.e., records you do not access on a regular basis). 

The University Records Center & Archives is also the official repository for all University records of lasting value once they are no longer needed for current use. Why do we do this? University records are our memory of decisions and transactions across a huge range of academic and administrative activities. If managed well, they provide insight into the development of the University over the course of its history, and preserve the memory of its organizational endeavors and achievements. 

How to transfer your records to the Archives?

How to retrieve or access your records already stored in the Archives?

                                              

Visit the KAUST Policy Portalfor further information about The University Records Policy.

Using This Guide

This guide provides information on the following topics:

  • Getting Started - learn what records are, basic overview of key terminology, and strategies for beginning to manage records;
  • Records Schedules - learn about KAUST's Records Retention and Disposition Schedules and how to use them;
  • Email management- learn best practices for managing emails; 
  • Naming conventions - learn best practices to name your files and folders;
  • Meeting Minutes Tips - Learn best practices when taking meeting minutes;
  • Transfer to Archives - learn when and how to send some permanent records to the University Archives; and
  • FAQ - this page provides a list of answers to commonly asked questions.

University Archivist and Records Manager

Chris Graves's picture
Chris Graves
Contact:
Bldg 12, Rm. 2129
808-3639

Quick Links